Several minutes after we turned off the TV and my sister’s two kids have fallen asleep, now is my turn to catch up on my reading.

I pulled up a book I often get back to whenever I feel like diving deep on someone’s pool of wisdom: “Listening To Your Life-Daily Meditations with Frederick Buechner.”

My own handwriting (with signature) on the title page inside the cover flap reminded of when and where I bought the book: “22 March 2003-BookSale, Harrison Plaza.” The original owner of the book was from Salinas, California, U.S.A. as shown by a personal sticker. An old friend’s letter from a notebook’s page dated “Christmas 2004” in his own penmanship was my bookmark for it.

I read an entry by date with my previously highlighted parts and then I read another and another still. Here are a few snippets:

‎”If we don’t stop from time to time to notice what is happening to us & around us & inside us, we run the tragic risk of losing touch with God too.”

‎”I not only have my secrets, I am my secrets…Our secrets are human secrets, & our trusting each other enough to share them with each other has much to do with the secret of what it is to be human.”

After picking on Mr. Buechner’s brain, it’s time to listen to my own thoughts. I haven’t done much writing lately. I have been too busy improving my photography skills and surfing online and doing the daily routines while taking my sweet time on things I should’ve done much earlier…

Someday, I hope to be remembered not only by people’s memory of their moments with me, but through my writing and photos. Then hopefully, after reflecting on my life, they’d also listen to the music of their own lives leading them to a better place…somewhere…somehow.

I guess I’ve gone pondering way too much. It’s time to sleep now.

Chime in and comment.

