By: Adrian Pantonial

1. Meeting new people and going to places always bring more surprises. This year I’ve picked up more insights and gained new friends with the activities I got involved with. I’ll do my best to travel and relate with people more next year and in years to come.

2. Writing and taking photos make me feel more blessed. Both hobbies help me keep track of the many blessings I ought to thank God for this year. Rather than focusing on the things I don’t have, counting my blessings makes me feel a lot better.

3. Practice wisdom and restraint when going online because it can be addicting, distracting and destructive. Virtually, the internet takes us to many places, lets us interact with people, helps us learn new things but getting addicted to it and not properly using it may also wreck havoc to our health, lifestyle and even relationships.

4. ATTITUDE = ALTITUDE. How far I go in life can be determined by how I respond to the challenges and failures I encounter along the way. No matter how many times I stumble or fall, if I keep rising up (and sometimes with the help of others), I will arrive in my destination.

5. Doing will take me far than just dreaming. “What is the best use of my time right now?” is a good question to ask myself to keep me action-oriented. But when I do get tired, I will rest and just enjoy the journey towards success.

6. Reinventing myself can be awesome! Technologies, things, people, place, systems and situations change. If I don’t adapt and become flexible with change, I can either be left behind or become extinct. Taking up a new hobby while refining my field of expertise is exciting.

7. Always be generous with praise and careful with criticism. I know how bad it feels to be criticized and how long it sometimes takes to fully recover so I choose my words well because the tongue has the power of life and death. People always want to feel appreciated and significant.

8. Knowledge without its application is useless. Same goes with my faith. It will only be beneficial for me and others as I apply good and godly principles in daily living. I love being a life-long learner and seeing how my perpetual growth helps others gives me great fulfillment.

9. God gives us joy when we live our life as a gift to Him. Happiness does not only come in possessing things. It comes in making the most of what you have while joy, despite of unwanted circumstances, comes from growing our relationship with God.

10. Our family is a real treasure we must keep for life. In these hard and changing times, keeping our family whole and staying in touch with each other can become a challenge. Towards the end of our life, those dear to us will be the ones we would like to spend our last days with so let’s enjoy every possible moment with them now. Serving for the success of my family is a high priority for me.

6 thoughts on “10 Life Lessons Learned in 2010

  1. Very good list. I especially love #4 & #9. Attitude is colors everything we do. If we work as if we are working for God himself instead of others, their opinions don’t seem to matter as much. I also love #4 for the altitude part because I am a pilot and higher is definitely better.

    I love that His mercies are new every morning. It makes the day off to such a great start and my joy complete! I wish I would have been as wise as you are at your age!

    Like

  2. flyinggma :

    Very good list. I especially love #4 & #9. Attitude is colors everything we do. If we work as if we are working for God himself instead of others, their opinions don’t seem to matter as much. I also love #4 for the altitude part because I am a pilot and higher is definitely better.

    I love that His mercies are new every morning. It makes the day off to such a great start and my joy complete! I wish I would have been as wise as you are at your age!

    Hi Jeanne! You make me blush with joy with your comment. I actually got the inspiration of writing this after visiting your blog of the same topic. =)

    I won’t be as wise now at my age if not for God’s grace. I still definitely have a lot to learn in life (and maybe learn some of them from your blogs).

    I admire you because at your age you’re still flying high achieving your dreams. Have a blessed and fruitful year to your family!

    Like

  3. Adrian, Everyday that we learn something new is a good day. I was reading in Phillipians 1:9-11 this morning and decided that just as it was Paul’s prayer for the Phillipians so long ago I want it to be my prayer for 2011. It is so appropriate to grow in knowledge and discernment on a daily basis. Blessings, Jeanne

    Like

Chime in and comment.

