-Excerpts from John Maxwell & Jim Dornan’s book: “Becoming a Person of Influence”

Sometime in May 2004– I wrote the acrostics below on my journal as I was reading the aforementioned book.

A person who applies best leadership practices can become an instrument of  change in a situation, a life and even a society.

I am aware of the challenges and responsibilities that go with it so I encourage everyone reading this to take a moment to pray for your leader/s (parents, teachers, work supervisors, church leaders etc.).

Blessed by the lives of great leaders in my life, I’m passing the lessons on to my own family and those I am currently mentoring while here and now, to you as well, my dear reader:

B          Believe in them before they succeed

E          Emphasize their strengths

L          List their past successes

I           Instill confidence when they fail

E          Experience some wins together

V          Visualize their future success

E          Expect a new level of living

   

I           Integrity with people

N          Nurtures other people

F          Faith in people

L          Listens to people

U          Understands people

E          Enlarges people

N          Navigates for other people

C          Connects with people

E          Empowers people

R          Reproduces other influencers

One thought on “Archive Notes 4: Best Leadership Practices

  1. Thank you for leaving a comment on my blog, Adrian, I’ve replied there – but it occurred to me that you may not read it. You may also be interested in this occasional blog of mine. There’s a new post today – but sometimes they are few and far between. I’ll look for you on Facebook if that’s OK. Are you on Twitter? @sassalynne

    http://muchthoughtfood.wordpress.com/

    Like

Chime in and comment.

