by Adrian Pantonial

Quality and lasting relationships are not built overnight. It takes a lot of time and effort to know others really well and in the process, know the relationship’s value and decide whether working on it or fighting for it will be worth it.

There were past instances when I saw myself as a loner. It took long and hard years to push me out of my shell and into the world outside.

Image by © Royalty-Free/Corbis
Image by © Royalty-Free/Corbis

Eventually, my interaction with different people…

  • exposed my blind spots that require correction
  • showed me other people’s traits worth imitating
  • changed my perspective on important areas in my life
  • cultivated relational and practical skills I cannot grow by myself
  • drove me to try new food, clothing, hobbies, and lifestyle
  • influenced me to pursue other possibilities which expanded my horizons
  • lead me to places and events I cannot go to alone because of my narrow preferences

Yes, I do get hurt in the process of trying to know others intimately but the lessons I glean along the way that now became part of a better me is worth all the pain.

Becoming a people person is not only about me evolving or improving my life but also about being involved with others to add value to people for their welfare.

Exerting efforts for mutual edification in every relationship does benefit both parties. Really loving others despite of their oddities (that makes things more challenging yet interesting) helps me to really live life to the full.

From my shell to the world out there, there’s plenty of exciting adventures to live to tell!

3 thoughts on “Out of My Shell, Part of Their World

Chime in and comment.

