“Whoever finds their life will lose it, and whoever loses their life for My sake will find it.”- Matthew 10:39

Nine years and counting – that’s how long I have been serving in church ministries…as of this writing. I was able to make a good estimate because I specified my involvements on my resume under “Volunteer / Ministry Work.”

My Ministry Involvements at Victory: 2001 – 2011

My commitment to these ministries began in a vow I made to God back in July 1999 to serve Him wholeheartedly after He healed my youngest sister from a deadly disease two years after our father died and our mother left us.

All these years I’m serving God are done from a grateful heart for the life He gave and the many blessings He continue to give me and my family.

I devoted my life to a worthy cause and realized too that I have also benefited greatly along the way as I learned to…

  • Become a well-rounded person knowing how to relate well with people from different walks of life
  • Manage my priorities well while being flexible to change
  • Develop a genuine concern to help others
  • Organize teams and events
  • Extend my friendship network
  • Inspire others to action
  • Become a catalyst of positive change wherever I may be

These years have not been easy. These were years of character refinement, leaving my comfort zones, allowing myself to be directed and shaped by God’s hands.

Over all, my experiences in these ministries made me a better: Kuya (big brother) to my siblings, son to my mother who returned to us after eight years, friend, employee and person as a whole…these still drive me to love and obey God more.

“Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.”- Galatians 6:9

6 thoughts on “The Lost and Fruitful Years of Service

    1. Hi Neil! I believe God does not measure our love or obedience in Him by the number of years we’ve served or been serving but in just simply delighting to make the best out of what station we are placed in life. 😉

      God sees your heart and I believe He’s pleased with that as you put your faith in action.

      Like

Chime in and comment.

