10 Reasons Why We Stop Reading A Book

After eight years, I finally finished reading Philip Yancey’s “The Jesus I Never Knew.” Ok, let me explain. I was a new Christian when I first tried reading it, which was after reading “What’s So Amazing About Grace?”

I bought my own copy of the “The Jesus…” only to see it has more “big words” in it and scholarly records of The Man I’m interested about. Along the way, I lent the book to my first church discipler and it was not returned to me for some reason. Years went on then months ago, I swapped books by the same author with a church friend and alas…I finished it! Hooray!

Photo from http://healthlob.com
Photo from http://healthlob.com

So far, I have read more than 111 books in my adult life and I resolve to read more because it helps me grow in many ways.

Although I still have unfinished books, I somehow learned to overcome these reasons why people stop reading a book:

  1. Procrastination
  2. Lack of self-discipline
  3. Lack of space and time
  4. Major life issues
  5. The author has a boring writing style
  6. The book’s over-all design is dull
  7. The book fails to address my current felt needs
  8. It no longer educate, entertain or inspire
  9. The topic discussed can actually be finished in just a few chapters
  10. Got distracted with reading a new book

To complete our much-needed reading, here are my suggestions. 

Read more to write more; but don’t forget to live more too, okay? 😉

Question: What makes you stop reading a book?

16 thoughts on “10 Reasons Why We Stop Reading A Book

  1. It’s not an easy thing for a novel to pique my interest early on. I read mostly based upon recommendation from a few trustworthy sources.

    Like

    1. @ WinstonEmerson – Most of the books I read are non-fiction. I’m such a slow-reader with novels but choosing a novel to read based on trusted recommendations is a great way to invest your time wisely. 🙂

      Like

  2. the reasons I stop reading books are if the book bores me in the beginning, Its wording confuses me, or it gets all gross with blood and guts and stuff I don’t have a strong stomach :/

    Like

  3. “Read more to write more but don’t forget to live more too, ok?” –Something I try to balance. Oh, the struggle.

    Usually if the book doesn’t sustain my interest, especially topic wise, I put it off. Although nowadays, especially if it’s fiction, I keep on till I end.

    Like

    1. @ PinoyJourn – Reading and writing both requires solitude that’s why it’s imperative that we maintain balance or we lose the life we ought to have that enables us to do both. 🙂

      Yours is a valid reason for not putting off reading. Finishing something is a very good discipline though.

      Like

    1. @ Bill DuBay – Thanks for visiting and leaving a comment. 🙂 It’s true that there are authors whose writings are difficult to understand but if I’m really interested with the topic, I do my best to stick with it with the help of a dictionary. ;P

      Like

  4. Lack of self-discipline. That’s why I don’t finish reading a book.. I only finished the first chapters..then leave the book hanging on the shelves. Poor me. Hihi.

    Like

Chime in and comment.

