When I’m stressed out, when everything seems to be hard and heavy to bear…for the longest time. When days seem to drag along oddly…sadly, I want to get away and get lost. For a week. A month. Or better yet, for a year – if I can afford it.

Away from all the common things and people and place. Away from all my daily routines. Away from all my must-do’s and must-have’s. No text messaging. No calls. No internet. To really get away from it all.

Photo from http://www.becomingminimalist.com
Photo from http://www.becomingminimalist.com

To fly like a kite high up in the sky, with strings untangled eventually somewhere I’ve never travelled. To float like a bubble and burst into thin air sublimely. To get lost in the wide open spaces. Away from the trouble and wilderness of my soul.

To stay away from the harried and helpless crowd like myself. To stop caring about people who don’t seem to care. And to stroll along empty highways, lush forest, and secluded seashore. To be one with nature and make friends with strangers and get lost in their culture and ways.

To just let time pass by, sit still, sleep soundly…and long. To weep bitterly if I must, until there’s no more tears left to shed. To unburden myself into nothingness until all pain subside. To let out a strong, wild scream against everything maddening.

To get away from it all…far and away from it all.

I know it’s just one of those days. It’s not the end of the world. This too shall pass. So help me God.

 

No matter how bad, long, and hard the season is, EVERY SEASON HAS AN ENDING. If you feel weary with your current season, be patient and prayerful in affliction for this too shall pass. “There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under the heavens. He has made EVERYTHING BEAUTIFUL IN ITS TIME.” – Ecclesiastes 3:1, 11a

One thought on “To Get Away…Far and Away

Chime in and comment.

