Though I’m out practically the whole day yesterday hosting at Shell Eco-Marathon Asia 2014, I THANK YOU ALL SO MUCH for making my birthday special with all your texts, and nearly 200 Facebook greetings. Some looks obligatory, while others really took extra effort to post inspiring graphics, photo collages, and tribute to yours truly. 

Mentor. Leader. Brother. Friend. Those four nouns that reverberate in your greetings reminds me to be accountable to God for living a life that pleases Him, more than people. 

Now and then, I’d pray to learn to love Him more than anything else and more than anyone else in this world. 

I really love this 4x3 sq. ft. tarpaulin which was made by my sister, April Pantonial, and posted in my Facebook wall by my sister, Jackielyn Pantonial-Cubilla.  When I got home from a long day of hosting, I found this hanging on my bookshelf. What a lovely surprise!
I really love this 4×3 sq. ft. tarpaulin which was made by my sister, April Pantonial, and posted in my Facebook wall by my sister, Jackielyn Pantonial-Cubilla. When I got home from a long day of hosting, I found this hanging on my bookshelf. Awesome surprise!

My 35 years of existence (Yeah I know, I don’t look like it. LOL!) is filled with blessings, breakthroughs, and best times, but also tattered with broken relationships, broken friendships, and episodes of broken heart…mine. (Sorry, my introvert, melancholic side is kicking in again!) 

Yet God has been faithfully and lovingly guiding me through all these. He is close to the brokenhearted and binds up my wounds. That makes me more dependent upon Him, more than people. 

It seems to me that I’ve had more than my share of troubles all these years. (Yes, life is unfair but God is good.) Those trials that seemed overwhelming, more than my triumphs, made me who I am today and changed me for the better, only by God’s grace. 

My passion for personal growth and lifelong learning, my secret to being the best version of myself so far is not a really secret. It’s God’s unconditional love, redemptive grace, and His power to change me from glory to glory.

When our beloved Mom passed away last year, we became officially orphans. I only hope (heaven knows) that my parents are proud of me for always doing my best playing the role of Mother-Father figure to my four siblings, being the eldest. 

Few days from now, I’ll be leaving the Philippines to work overseas – who knows where this leads me. Away from my offbeat family, away from my precious few close friends, and way outside of my comfort zone. But I will leave holding on to this promise of God:

“What no eye has seen, what no ear has heard, and what no human mind has conceived”— the things God has prepared for those who love him.” – 1 Corinthians 2:9 

Along with these poignant words, let me share with you Michael English’s song “In Christ Alone,” for this befits my life story thus far.

One thought on “Birthday Post: Thank You Note

Chime in and comment.

