“For My thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways My ways,” declares the Lord.” – Isaiah 55:8 NIV

My faith is yet again bombarded by plagues of doubt. Going through another hurdle has made me even more aware of my friends’ sufferings. I’m praying for them and they’re praying for me. But somehow, the answers don’t come easily. It sometimes takes a long while.

We cannot become God's masterpiece if we won’t go through the necessary process of molding, breaking, and refinement. [Photo: Logan Lerman in the film "Fury." Watch it!]
We cannot become God’s masterpiece if we won’t go through the necessary process of molding, breaking, and refinement. [Photo: Logan Lerman in the film “Fury.” Watch it!]
I’m fighting real hard to stay positive at this juncture of my life. My hope swings along with my feelings in a very thin thread that’s close to breaking, if not for my tiny seed of faith that I nurture daily.

At an early age, I felt like I’ve had more than my share of life’s troubles. Somehow I’m grateful because these gave me some bits of wisdom beyond my years.

Nonetheless, there have been countless nights that I’d ask God to “just take me home,” and no longer wake up to another day of suffering.

We, humans, are a forgetful bunch. Though we have already experienced so many breakthroughs in the past, we continue to waver in unbelief if we will ever surpass yet another challenge.

And to remember God’s goodness, that is why I…

  • Go to church every Sunday when I’m home in the Philippines
  • Do my best to read my Bible daily
  • Fellowship with other believers to share my faith and also receive timely encouragement

I’m sure you have your own share of doubts, your share of problems, and unanswered prayers. Everybody has problems. Everybody.

You may have also been hurt by the wrong assumption that God will always give exactly what you ask for, after believing it with all the faith you can muster.

Who are we to teach God how to answer our prayers?

Who are we to assume His will for our lives?

What if what we’re praying for is not His will?

In this life, we may have more questions than answers. We can only hope as we pray that He’ll give what’s best in our situations. As we pray, let’s not put God in a box that He will answer our pleas in the way we want them answered.

God is our Creator. And we are just mere creatures. Shall we only receive good things from Him and not the bad things that He thinks will be good for us? Shouldn’t we also receive discipline, correction, and tough love when we need it?

I believe, beyond the shadow of doubt, that God loves me.

But sometimes, I think that He trusts me more than I trust myself, so He gives me bigger challenges beyond my capacity. Yet, I’m reminded that: God gives the toughest battles to His strongest warriors.

The answer to many unanswered prayers is just one word. TRUST.

Let’s trust Him more because He knows what He’s doing. We cannot become His masterpiece if we won’t go through the necessary process of molding, breaking, and refinement.

Chime in and comment.

