Unknown to many, my 2015 opened with a very rough start. The first few months of my year won’t ever qualify to be part of “Best Year Ever” category of most people.

ontheroad1

I had so many sleepless nights. Nights when I asked God to take me “home.” I had to fill my days with things to do, or else I will just be spending them weeping while curling like a ball in a dark corner.  

Yes, I’ve had those moments. Those bad and dreary days and months. But those were the times when I learned much wisdom from unfortunate events. Those were the times that tested my character and rocked the foundations of my faith.

But alas, thank God I survived them all.

And I’ve even managed to make my “best year ever” despite of all that happened.

So here are some 15 life-changing lessons I learned this year, and some of them I learned the hard way. With so much gratitude in my heart, I’m sharing them with you hoping they could help you have a better and blessed 2016:     

  1. The times when you’re alone and vulnerable are opportunities to be enriched and awakened by your experiences. Knowing and embracing God’s will in your life for this season empower you to experience the kind of peace and joy that could only come through pain and suffering.
  2. Sometimes, I do wonder: Will we be better off without out struggles and sufferings, if God would take them away? Or would we be weaker in faith and in character? Could it be that on this side of heaven, our reliance on God’s ways, grace, and wisdom could make our lives better and fuller?
  3. Your reason directs your mission. The reason why you do things determines the quality and output of how you do things.
  4. Stay focused. Your struggles are stretching you towards success. Keep fighting the good fight of faith.
  5. Ever feel like you don’t have a choice in a situation and you feel stuck in it? If you can’t change your situation, you can at least change your attitude towards it. Your change of perspective might empower you to try new inroads to better living.
  6. Run your own race and do not compare yourself with others. When you rush your way to success, you could also potentially rush your way to ruin. Be patient with the process and make the best out of your current situation.
  7. When God gives you the exact opposite of what you’ve been praying for, maybe you need to change your focus, your plans, or your attitude.
  8. When God plucks you out of a situation, He intends to plant you in a much better place. So take comfort and trust that God is working in your life…even if you don’t see it.
  9. Make every effort to resolve the problems that come your way. Don’t flee from them because if you do, they could possibly haunt you in an even more complex form in another time, another place, or through other people.
  10. With faith, face your failures and fears. Remember that when you fall, it’s not fatal, because God is with you all the way. He will never leave you nor forsake you.
  11. God is most concerned with who I am becoming, not in where I have gone, nor where I am going. The goal is progress not perfection.
  12. When your dreams are crushed, remember, you can still build new ones. Be still. Trust God. And entrust your ways to God who can make a way where there seems to be no way.
  13. Dreams are achieved when you combine hard work with prayers. Faith without action is dead.
  14. What others consider as your failure could actually be a God-orchestrated detour. Learn from the past and grow in the meantime.
  15. When people forget their promises, let it Go and lift your concerns to God. He makes a way where there seems to be no way. God always keeps His promises.

10 thoughts on “15 Life-changing Lessons of 2015

  1. Adrian, I come back to this and think you have a gift (in addition to your great writing skill) of which is the belief of getting better ~ as you say the tough times “were the times when I learned much wisdom from unfortunate events” and this is how I think the coming year will be a great one, perhaps the best ever, for those who carry the same attitude. Wish you a great 2016.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I always think “challenges” instead of “struggles” or “problems”. And when you think that way, it is easier to deal with “challenges”. Thinking of your “struggles” or “problems” as “challenges”, it gives you more motivations and you’re more confident that you can get through with it. Cheers to 2016!

    Liked by 1 person

Chime in and comment.

