Brooke Fraser’s version of “His Glory Appears” captivated me the first time I heard it so when my late mother got hospitalized, I kept playing it for her and for me too as I kept on believing that God will spare my mom a miracle.

I played that song on my cellphone while she was going through surgery, after which a mass as big as the head of a newborn baby was taken out of her intestines.

I was playing it while Nanay is sleeping along with the tubes connected to her as kept begging for God to extend her life.

I would play it while I comb her long hair that she didn’t want to cut because she lost it once when she got bald due to the medications for breast cancer.

It was just so painful then that His glory did appear in a different way, when He took Nanay to His loving grace.

So even after a few years Nanay passed on, whenever that version of this song plays, a tear or two would always ensue. And I just can’t help it.

Then one night, I discovered Darlene Zschech’s version of the same song in her album, “Simply Darlene: An Acoustic Journey.” The song took on a different meaning as I heard it after a memorable day.

Since then, I would play it now and again, after I hosted an event or after my day turned out really well.

That way, the song takes on a redemptive meaning for me. No longer one of pain and suffering, but of joy and rejoicing.

Weeping may last through the night, but joy comes with the morning.” – Psalm 30:5b

Chime in and comment.