“…because of these surpassingly great revelations. Therefore, in order to keep me from becoming conceited, I was given a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me. Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me. But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.”

– 2 Corinthians 12:7-9

 Every one of us has at least one thing that always drives us to call for God’s help. Every one of us has issues. And every one of us has a tendency to be too self-sufficient, haughty, and careless of others’ welfare.

What is the one thing that you keep asking God to take away but for some strange reason, God doesn’t answer it in your preferred way?

This one thing causes you great pain and can make you go crazy at times.One Thing It could be:

  • a physical, emotional, spiritual concern
  • a person or a situation in your life that does not seem to go away
  • poverty, sickness, or a bad habit
  • your major concern or someone close to you.

Why You Have That One Thing

This one thing keeps us crying and keeps us calling out to God and for other people’s help, and humbles us in the process. It may last for months, years, and maybe even a lifetime. This happens so that more of God’s power, love, and blessings can be displayed as we depend on Him.  This happens so that people around us will turn to God, and eventually would want to glorify Him too in everything.

This one thing is your difference-maker because it makes you stand out from the crowd, if you are able to respond to it properly.

The Mystery of the Thorn in the Flesh

Bible scholars have failed to identify specifically what Apostle Paul’s “thorn in the flesh” is. But it could also be that God in His omniscient wisdom intentionally kept it hidden so every one of us can relate. So that from Paul’s pain, we can gain insights. So that from our own pain, while clinging onto God for sustenance and dear life, we gain more faith, inspiration, and wisdom that we can share with others.

 Whatever your one thing is, I encourage you to join me. Let’s come to God together and ask Him for comfort, grace and wisdom, so we could make the best out of our “thorn in the flesh.” And so that God’s power will be made perfect in our weakness. So that we would be able to say with Apostle Paul – with conviction and God’s help – that…

 “… Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.”

– 2 Corinthians 12:9-10

 How about you? What is your one thing?

3 thoughts on “The One Thing: Your Difference-Maker

  1. I have this “one thing” I just shared to a fellow brother in Victory. This is exactly the verse he shared to me “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” I submitted that “one thing” to him. The more that I resists myself from temptation or evil thing the stronger I become. Now I have this conviction with Gods help that everything that I am having through will be gone and will replace with mighty strength that come from God.

    Gods grace is sufficient to turn us away from temptation. I leave my weaknesses to you for you will strengthen me with you power.

    Like

  2. So true, its hard to relate to someone when you are suffering if they have not gone through the same thing, or at least, something similar. I agree with your statement that perhaps God in His wisdom left this part to be a mystery so that we ALL could identify with Paul and take comfort in his words. Thank you for posting this!

    Like

Chime in and comment.